People think that countries should produce food their population eats and import less food as much as possible.

According to some people government should diminish the imported food products and strive to fulfil the people's demands by increasing local food production. I completely agree with the given idea mentioned above. Food is a vital element in people's life as water that is why it should be a priority for governments to meet local demand. There are several benefits of such economic policy. Firstly, by establishing or increasing agricultural facilities countries terminate the dependance on neighbour states and they can guarantee themselves from unexpected situations, such as war or natural disasters. The obstruction of agricultural infrastructures takes a long time to be ready, that is why countries would not have sufficient time to erect food production facilities when they encountered with the aforementioned situation. For example, until 2012 the trade amount of food products between Turkey and Russia was significantly greater and almost 80 percent of Russian food industry was depended on Turkey and most of the vegetables and fruits were turkish products. But in 2012 there was a jet crisis between these countries and due to that the relation between the 2 states stopped and Russia made an embargo for turkish products. Then the prices were dramatically raised in Russia due to the lack of food. Secondly, unemployment rates would be declined by creating food industry. Since ancient ages people have worked on farms and sown areas. Despite the technological advancement, today there are high workforce demand for agriculture. To put in another way, countries can create job opportunities for residents at the same time with ensuring it is internal demand. Additionally, as the local production are increasing countries get an opportunity to export excessive products. In conclusion, I completely believe that there is no point importing food products while every country has a potential to erect healthier and safer food industry.