People these days work hard to buy more. This has made life more entertaining and comfortable in many ways, but it also demands a lot of time and energy. Discuss whether the advantages outweigh the disadvantages of this trend.

In this fast-paced consumer society, people often work over 60 hours a week to pay for their needs and wants. Millions of individuals opt to spend their time at work rather than with family and friends so they can increase the quality and quantity of goods and services they buy. This has a major impact on their personal and social lives. The benefits of working more to purchase more are greater than the deficits as this situation empowers individuals for better experiences and less stress. Earning more money leads to a comfortable and luxurious lifestyle which demands more hours at the office. While it is true that having expensive objects and experience decreases time with family and friends, as it requires more work, the overall quality of life is greater and therefore enjoyed more. In the end, the satisfaction that a person gets from life is more important than the total amount of time. For instance, a businessman may only have two weeks of vacation in the year to spend in Hawaii with their family and all amenities, but arguably, this is better than a one-month vacation spent at home watching TV as there is no money for plane tickets or hotels. This is one reason the advantages of working to more to buy more are preferable. Thus, it is clear that working more leads to greater life satisfaction. Having more money enables individuals to decrease the number of problematic situations in life which results in a higher level of confidence and peace-of-mind. Those people who work hard to have lots of disposable income can afford not only expensive vacations but also costly medical bills and highly nutritious foods. The businessman on vacation in Hawaii does not need to stress about injuring himself while surfing, as he can afford the medical costs; while the man watching TV at home, maybe quite concerned in case of an accident. In conclusion, working harder and longer gives people the opportunities to maximize their life experiences while decreasing their worries. Therefore, it is clear that the merits of working more outweigh the disadvantages. Ultimately, life is about the quality of experiences and not necessarily the quantity, as nobody truly knows the amount of time they have on earth.