People. nowadays work hard to buy more things. This has made our life generally more comfortable but it is a pity many traditional values have been lost on the way to such materialism. with the statement?

It is certainly true that today's lifestyle has become more materialistic than ever. Our needs have been rising by the day. However, to say that we have been losing our culture and traditions in a rush to earn more and to buy more is a conservative statement to make. The basis behind the argument that we are killing our roots on the way to materialism is that a lot of people do not wish to change with time. Culture and traditions have a strong identity but they are like a flowing river, every minute the same and yet different. With open markets and massive industrializations both the buying power of and the options for the people have increased. Thus, they wish to make life more comfortable for themselves and their family and this does not mean that that they do not respect tradition any longer. Moreover, the act of buying or possessing does not directly kill our values but there is a deeper disease called instant gratification where people want to do less and get more results. In general there is seen an attitude of irresponsibility which makes people selfish and manipulative in today's stressful working conditions. It is possible that the pursuit to buy more results in wasteful expenditure and incidents of people dealing with their insecurity by going shopping. This extreme consumerism needs to be certainly checked. Finally, I believe that we are not losing our culture and tradition but the way of executing them has transformed in our times. Living a good, well provided life rather helps us take pride in our cultural history and celebrate it by way of rituals, festivals and day to day behaviour.