Fossil fuels, such as coal, oil, natural gas, are used in many countries. But in some countries, the use of alternative sources of energy, including wind and solar power, are encouraged. Is this trend a positive or a negative development?

It is irrefutable that fossil fuels are the main source of energy in many parts of the world, but renewable substitutes like solar power are getting popularised at an unprecedented rate in some nations. In my opinion, I fully convinced that developing the alternative sources of energy is positive mainly because of its renewable and environmental-friendly features. To begin with, It is widely acknowledged that renewable resources such as solar power and hydropower is an everlasting source of power and can thus be utilized repetitively. By contrast, non-renewable resource like fossil fuels can be only used once. Under this circumstance, people are likely to lack of such resources because of excessive consumption. Therefore, the local government should encourage people to adopt alternative sources of energy instead of fossil fuels. Furthermore, instead of producing poisonous gas into the air, alternative resources fully make use of natural resources to generate energy without pollution. For instance, France has solar panels which converse electricity from sunlight. It is clear that currently both countries reduce polluting the environment and releasing greenhouse gases during operation. Although the use of these alternative sources has some hurdles such as the initial cost of setting up solar panels and wind farms is very high, and these are also dependent on the geographical location. Nevertheless, once the initial cost has been met with, their maintenance is practically negligible. In conclusion, I firmly believe that the application of the potential energy sources to replace conventional energy is obviously an important step forward. Thus, in order to reduce pollution and establish a sustainable development model, governments should support and encourage the use of renewable energy sources and reduce the global dependence on fossil fuels.