People spend a lot of money on various things as they earn more money nowadays than before. Is it a positive or negative development?

These days, It is conceived, that people are spending a lot of money on buying different things as they earn more. I believe this is a negative development. This is because money should be spent on better health care and on investments, which will return income for the future. To start with, being healthy plays a vital role in one's lifestyle. Of late, it is evident that healthy food can be extremely expensive to afford for people, That is to say, the money they earn should be spent wisely on food, which is conducive for better health, and not on things. Apparently, not only is it beneficial to be physically fit and mentally active, but also it opens door for better productivity in daily work and also to be self-reliant in handling tedious tasks. For example, a report by The Guardian suggested that in 2017, Chinese spent their major share of income on their health care, which resulted in lesser disease incidents and higher productivity, consequently, stood top in the world healthy nation ratings. Moreover, rather than spending money on things which would have no return on investment, spending money on potential investments for the future would augur well for the future. In other words, if individuals haven't had investments for their future, they would not have a passive income in their later stage of life, where the income trends would be highly obscure. For instance, a study conducted at the Oxford university stated that individuals who spent their capital on investments earlier tend to be self-sufficient from their income returns now. Therefore, it is evident that using income on purchasing things is not an ideal way to spend money on and conversely, spending on investments which aids in future would be the better way. In conclusion, I am convinced that it is a negative development that people are spending their money on things, which offer no value, as opposed to spending on much productive deeds like physical well-being, and on investments.