People spend a lot of money on various things as they earn more money nowadays than before. Is it a positive or negative development?

In the recent era, the dilemma arises when ordinary folks are faced with people’s tendency to obtain and expend more monetary resource on a variety of goods than the past period. This essay will examine both positive and negative perspectives of this trend and conclude that it is both a blessing and curse. On the one hand, there are a host of reasons why this tendency is advantageous. First and foremost, this phenomenon will perpetuate the virtuous cycle of economic prosperity. Clearly, consumption allows the nation a higher employment level, which leads to surging their spending power of the individuals. For instance, we have witnessed that people travel around the world and purchase the latest electronic gadgets, such as a brand-new Galaxy S20. Moreover, excessive savings are apt to cause a tremendous deflation of the country. Deflation, which is a general decline in prices for goods, is one of the main causes of the recession and the depression. To illustrate, Japanese was fallen a victim of a 10-year-depression, due to the universal trend of unwilling to spend money in Japan. Thence, proper income and consumption help improve the economy and the people’s quality of lives. On the other hand, there are also some downsides to this phenomenon. Primarily, people can underestimate the value of goods and money as they acquire huge chunks of money. As the technology is getting advanced day by day, nowadays people spend a lot of their income on the latest devices, namely smartphones, laptops, and home appliances. Therefore, this could cause a huge amount of wastage, as people throw away their old-fashioned gadgets without hesitation. Additionally, the tendency leads to amplifying people’s unbridled consumption habits. Social learning theorists, such as Bandura, contended that humans can learn and imitate unconsciously or consciously by watching others. In this respect, as the phenomenon as a universal trend continues in the long run, the virtue of saving would be disappeared since the no one could find an appropriate role model for saving, in pursuit of emulating a good demeanor. To surmise, even though there are a lot of controversial debates on whether an increase in both earning and consuming of each individual is deleterious or not, we the people need to know positive as well as negative aspects of the phenomenon because it is like a double-edged sword.