People sleep less than before in many countries. Why do people sleep less? What effects does it have on individual and on society

It has been reported in a number of studies that sleeping habits of the residents of handful countries are going through change. Following paragraphs will be penned down to establish the reasons causing this change, followed by the consequences it has on a personal level and on the community. Change is inevitable, whether it is for good or bad, whether it is liked or disgusted by the majority, it is there since the origin of life on earth and it is solely responsible for our development. With the invention of electricity, nightlife of people is changed forever. Before this precious invention, mankind was dependent on sunlight to execute most of its chores, however, now that dependence is a story of the past, thanks to electric supply. Now people have more freedom to plan their day and night as life will not sleep with the sun, but a new life will begin, called nightlife. Nowadays, there is a strong possibility to stay late at night due to many factors, for example to have a dinner party or hosting a music and dance gathering, it can also be due to shopping or just wandering in the surroundings to have a view of city lights. All of the aforesaid reasons lead to lack of sleep as people will not go to bed with the end of the day and continue their activities in artificial light. This, of course, is not without effects, many studies discovered that people are suffering from sleep deprivation that is ultimately impacting their health, because for a human body to perform effectively, a certain amount of sleep is vital. It is also having effects on the society as some segments of the community can not afford to be awake till late at night, for example, school going children and people who have to report for early shift at work. To conclude, it is pertinent to note that although change is important for progress and sleeping patterns of society are changing with the invention of electricity, nevertheless, the state has the responsibility to manipulate it in the favor of masses