People sleep less than before in many countries. Why do people sleep less? What effect does it have on an individual and on society?

In this modern world, many people are sleep deprived than they were before. This is due to the longer working hours at the office because of the high work demand. This is inevitably effecting people's productivity and is also negatively effecting the relationships among people in the society. Undoubtedly, the main reason of sleep deprivation is that people are exceptionally overworked nowadays. This is because they are facing a lot of job pressure and due to high competition in the market. Since, everyone wants to excel and reach the highest point in the corporate ladder without being patient, which leads to more peer pressure and hence, people end up spending more time at the work. For instance, in 2018, in India, it was reported that 85% of the IT workers spend atleast 55-60hrs a week in the office. Therefore, office work takes up most of their time, that eventually leaves only few hours for sleep. Sleep deprivation is immensely deteriorating people's productivity. In addition to this, it spares no time for people to socialize and attend community gatherings. In fact, people who are not well rested tend to feel less focused and cannot concentrate well on work. Moreover, due to lack of energy they are not able to spend time in networking and socializing. A research study in Indonesia revealed that people who spent more than 50hrs a week at work were eventually being less productive by the end of the week. Hence, lack of sleep negatively effects an individual's performance and the connection amongst people in the society. Nowadays, many people are sleep deprived around the globe. This is because of the growing work pressure and spending more hours at work. Consequently, this is adversely impacting the overall productivity of the employee and weakening the bond amongst the people in the society.