People sleep less than before in many countries. Why people sleep less. ? what effect does it have on an individual and society?

Noticeably, insomnia, nowadays, is one of the widely recognised problems around the world. This essay sheds light on the prime reason for decreasing amount of sleep, and its impacts on both individual and society. To begin with, drastic increase in the use of electronic gadgets such as mobile and computer before bed time is the predominant reason for the decrease in the sleeping hours. In details, studies in health sector, evidently, revealed that blue light emitted from the mobile as well as computer screen reduced the production melatonin which is known as sleeping hormone. Consequently, after the light being exposed from the screens of these gadgets, people sleep less than usual at night. Secondly, insufficient sleep at night is one of leading cause of varies life style diseases, headache, lack of attention and so on. To be clearer, while people having deprived sleep, their body in not getting enough time to rest in order to refresh physiological functions. Since such a refreshing inevitable for the normal functioning of the varies vital organs such as brain and heart, redused sleeping hours gradually end up in the varies diseases. Finally, the altered sleeping habits also have a social impact as it reduce the productivity of employees. In other words, stability and growth of the society depends on the efficiency of the people who work in it. It is quite evident that less sleeping hours dramatically reduce the efficiency of these work force as such it, collectively, reduce the social productivity. Some companies reported considerable amount of increase in the productivity after introducing a power nap, a short nap after lunch. It reiterates importance of sleep in productive society. To sum up, habit of using mobile phone and computer at bed time is major reason for drop in sleeping hours. This issue adversely impact the health of individuals who sleep less than usual and reduce the productivity in the society as it reduce the efficiency of the employees.