People sleep less than before in many countries. Why do people sleep less? What effects does it have on an individual and on society?

An average person needs atleast 8 hours of sleep daily to feel refreshed. The number of hours people our sleeping has reduced in many countries due to work pressure and with constant use of social media because of this individual’s health and overall societies well being has been negatively effected. This essay will discuss why people are sleeping less than before and it’s effects on them and the society as well. People nowdays have poor work-life balance and our glued to social media applications. The working environment is more competitive than before with higher targets set every quarter to achieve, moreover everyone is constantly checking and refreshing for new updates as they have a fear of missing out on new information. For instance, an average user spends around 6 hours daily on social media and is ready to sacrifice their sleep for it. This has lead to the whole society being sleep deprived and feeling tired. Sleep deprivation has lead to serious effects on the health of the society and individuals. Due to lack of sleep people have suffered from illness such as high blood pressure and depression, for example: a recent study revealed that 70% of people suffering from depression sleep less than 6 hours a day. Overall the society is also getting effected as their has been an increase in the number of road accidents because of fatigue. Thus, sleeping less than what is needed by the body can disturb the balance of the society. In conclusion, people are sleeping less than needed in many countries because of no work-life balance and addiction to social media. This has not just effected the health of the individuals negatively but the society as a whole.