People should look after their health for personal benefits, rather than a duty for a society. What extent

People should look after their health for personal benefits, rather than a duty for a society. What extent do you agree or disagree? In modern society, although some diseases can be treated effortlessly, a series of new diseases have emerged, some of which are incurable such as corona virus, HIV, cancers, and so on. Therefore, people should watch over their health cautiously to contract such diseases, as the first step toward preventing the pandemic in a society. Often we nowadays realize the extent to which personal healthcare can protect us from diseases. That is why it used to be said that an ounce of prevention is worth a pound of cure. However, individuals need to take care of the spread of illnesses as a social duty in the same serious way they care for themselves against illnesses. To begin with, our society has created a false dichotomy between personal benefits and social interests in relation to observing hygiene, whereby both are achievable. An essential point in this regard is that the lack of awareness of individual health care results in social consequences, causing more government investment economically in hygiene than the other facilities such as education, public transport, etc. For instance, people suffered from cancer have increasingly been growing over time because of consuming genetically modified foods, resulting in increasing import drugs by governments. Secondly, people no longer live in small communities to the same extent as they used to, therefore their interaction affects profoundly each other's lives. Unless people protect each other’s health, diseases will spread across society, especially those which are contagious. Personal health negligence can make a society more susceptible to contagious conditions, increasing the likelihood of an epidemic. For example, many citizens in my country were infected with corona virus because of inadequate self-care guidance and lack of personal health awareness, causing the disease to spread throughout my country, becoming the deadliest epidemic in my country’s history. In conclusion, people should pay attention to their health due to the fact that it is useful not only for personal benefits, but also for social interests.