people should be allowed to work as long as they want to and not be forced to retire at a particular age such as 60 or 65

The age at which person is required to cease work is the retirement age, but it has been imposed a specific age- between 60 to 65- to retire from work. Hence, a vigorous debate has been sparked over whether the retirement age should be compulsory or not. In my opinion, governments should not grant permission to people to carry on working on condition that they want to, due to their health conditions. Firstly, one of the primary reasons to retire at a particular age is that the older people place an onerous burden on a workplace, for they are less productive physical. Therefore, they do not have the necessary power to undertake the arduous tasks and that leads not only to hinder the progress of the workplace but also to incur the firm heavy losses. For example, Facebook, which deems as one of the leading companies in the technology all over the world, has average ages between 25 to 50, and the Chief Executive Offices is only 35 years old. Secondly, keeping older workers in the workforce for longer might have negative consequences for younger workers. To enumerate, if the headcount of a company is consistent, the youth have to wait until an older person retires, but their chances to be hired will be reduced. As a result, not only does the unemployment rate rises, but the cost of providing subsidies to cover idleness also escalates. In Conclusion, I believe the retirement age should be obligatory at a certain age because of many reasons, of which the high rate of idleness is the most apparent.