Many governments think that economic progress is their most important goal. Some people, however, think that other types of progress are equally important for a country.

Some would argue that progress in diverse areas are required for country, while others opine that more attention need to be focused on country’s economic development. Although economic growth has much of importance, I strongly believe that a country will be sustainability developed if it is enhanced in all political and social fields in addition to economic one. There are three key reasons why economic growth is seen as a fundamental goal for countries. Firstly, the more economy grows, the more job opportunities create and the higher salary is given to citizen. Take North Korea, which its economic development has been retarded by international sanctions for almost a 20-year period, for example. A large number of its inhabitants has been suffering from lack of enough vacancies and also experiencing some difficulties in international trading. Secondly, economic progress ensures the availability of high amount of financial resources for government so as to be spent on infrastructure and public services such as transportation, public health, insurance system etc. Finally, an economically developed country benefits from its wide economic relations with other countries, resulting in great influential political relations. On the other hand, it is too narrow as an approach to limit development concept just into economic progress. From the social science point of view, social welfare and environmental concerns are two suitable factors can measure how a society is developed. Welfare concept includes all political, social, economic and cultural conditions. How much a society and a government respect to the human rights, personal freedoms, social security and democracy not only are in same importance as economic factors but they also are driving forces behind any sustainable economic success. Furthermore, a society is developed, to whom environment protection means everything and therefore all developments have to be environmentally sustainable. To recapitulate, economic development of a country seems worthwhile; nonetheless, different sorts of progress such as political and social are as significant as economic.