In some countries criminal trials are shown on television for the public Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages

Criminal activities are in raising in almost all over the world. It is always in debate that broadcasting criminal trials to the general public is appropriate. This essay will discuss with facts, why the positive effects are not outweighing the negative effects. Some people can say it have more advantages, most of the developing countries highlight this because they believe that it will help the people to understand the weight of the process and the criminals. Moreover, the governments expect that this will help to raise an awareness and hopefully reduce the crime rate. For an example, if the public can see a criminal trial of a murder, it will be very informative to the public to understand the strength of the justice system. But there are more negative effects than the positive effects specially for the family of the offender. For an example, if a person convicted for a robbery and the trial was broadcast over the media, people try to corner not only the convict, but also the family members and relatives. This will be very bad for them because it will let them down emotionally. Although the felon released from jail after the completion of the given sentences, he cannot face the public or get a job even he was rehabilitated. Furthermore, some developed countries censor the face of the convict to protect his privacy. So that, the family members of that convict can still interact with the people around them. In conclusion, even though some government thinks that showing criminal trials over the media is helping them to reduce the crime rate, developed countries who respect the persons privacy will not allow mainly because not only it will affect the convicted person emotionally, but also to the family members.