Some people think that elderly people should be forced to retire at a certain age, such as 65. Others say that people should be allowed to work for as long as they are able and want to.

There is no doubt that all workers will reach their retirement age. Although some people believe that they can work whenever they like, I believe that fixed retirement age should be followed. This essay will evaluate two sides of the argument, followed by a reasoned conclusion. On the one hand, the primary reason why people are obliged to work is not their passion for the job, but a need to fulfill their obligation and to meet the necessities of life. As one grows older, he faces the challenge of living alone and therefore, paying all necessary expenses in order to have a decent life. For example, in the UK research on elderly people, they found out that retirement benefits received by the pensioners were not enough to pay accommodation, food and medicine cost. This clearly shows that the financial conditions have a great influence in their decision to stay on the job. On the other hand, I argue that elderly workers should have a specific retirement age of 65 and it holds a valid justification. Firstly, some of the nations adopted this age because it is believed that by this time, people can have some medical conditions. Secondly, the productivity level of these employees cannot be guaranteed as the same as before. Finally, at this later stage of one’s life, they should enjoy the fruits of their labor and relieve them of stress work. In conclusion, despite the financial reason for continuously working at old age, I argue that it should be made mandatory that a worker should retire at a certain age for a medical reason, work related issues and personal fulfillment.