People recognize a difference between children and adults. What events (experiences or ceremonies) make a person an adult? Use specific reasons and examples to explain your answer.

Recently, there has been an increase in the numbers of students studying overseas as part of their degree. Although, they get to learn another culture and language, they might feel isolated, having to live far away from their loved ones. In my opinion, student will be way better off not travelling abroad to study to eliminate the risk of feeling depressed and not learning a language they might never use. There is a variation in the way people communicate all across the globe primarily because of the culture of the place. As a result of this, to be able to communicate effectively a student who travels overseas will have to learn the culture and spoken language of their new environment. Although, this might be changeling initially, but they eventually adapt. This new language might also have a positive impact on their career later in the future. For example, most companies now prefer applicant who can speak more than one language fluently. This could be an advantage for a person who had schooled in a foreign country. However, despite this benefit very few student do well in foreign countries. First of all, nobody likes to leave their comfort zone. A place where one feels safe, understood and comfortable. Most students find it difficult to live thousands of miles away from their families for various reasons. For some they have never left home, some inability to care for themselves, and some might have some emotional ties to their families. Additionally, some even find it difficult to communicate on a regular basis with their families because of the time difference that does exist between two continents. This eventually tends to affect their grades in school. A recent studies carried out by the University Council Body in America shown that students usually decline academically when they are abroad, and this was attributed to depression from being homesick. To conclude, although it will be an advantage to be bilingual as this could be handy in the future, but it’s extremely important not to live isolated in depression.