Essay topics: People recognize a difference between children and adults. What events (experiences or ceremonies) make a person an adult? Use specific reasons and examples to explain your answer.

Life represents a process that start the day one is born and ends with his death. Childhood and adulthood are two representative stages of this process, being very different one from another. From my point of view, the main differences between adults and children are related to financial independence and responsibilities. I will explain my statement, in detail, in the following essay. To begin with, financial independence is the first sign which indicates that a person has made a step to adulthood. Even though students seem to gain independence when they go to college, they still depend economically on their parents and they do not truly understand the value of money. But, when people start to win money by their own, and they begin to pay for rent, transportation, clothes and all the other expenditures, that is the moment when they realize how important and valuable is every cent. Therefore, their behavior starts to change because they figure out that they have to control the flow of money. My own experience is a compelling example on this. Back in college, my parents used to pay for all my needs. They were sending me an amount of money monthly, and even more if I was texting them that I was out of cash. I was a diligent student, but the same time I loved having fun, going to the clubs or to trips. After I graduate from college, I got hired and my parents stopped sending me money. Suddenly, I realized that I was not able to spend the same amount of money on fun like before. Being employed in a junior position, the wage was not very high so I started to cut from my activities. This was a shocking moment for me, that made the transition from childhood to adulthood. To continue with, some responsibilities, underlines the fact that people are adults. In this category ceremonies and events such as weddings and having children can be included. So, after gaining financial stability, the next step is to settle down, to find the right person to live the rest of your life and to have children. Moreover, this step brings many responsibilities. Not to mention that the adults will have to do many sacrifices. From now on, the couple is responsible to grow up a child, to provide him with the same conditions they were offered previous by their own parents. The couple is directly accountable for the happiness and wealth of the entire family. For instance, when my brother got married and his first child was born, he had to give up on certain things. He could not spend his spare time with his friends or buy the same amount of clothes as prior. Instead, he moved to a more family environment place, he bought a house and he start saving money for the future of his child. Thus, marriage is a tremendous event that marks a step in adulthood. To summarize, there are significant differences between children and adults. First, an individual starts to become an adult when he starts winning money. Second, marriage plays one of the most important roles that defines the adulthood in many aspects.