People prefer to watch foreign films rather than locally produced ones. Why do you think this happens? Should the government support local film makers financially?

Nowadays films are released globally and viewers get an opportunity to see the foreign films in addition to local ones. In some countries, it has also been observed that people like to watch the foreign produced films than the native cinema. I shall explain the reason for this. People who give preference to foreign cinema have some valid points. Firstly, in some of the countries, local cinema is not popular and only few films are produced yearly, which perhaps not enough to meet viewers demands. For example, in Arab countries, producing films are not considered good and people refrain from making film. Secondly, poor quality of films diverts the people towards foreign films. Sometimes films produced locally do not meet the required standards and not able to attract the local people. Particularly, films produced by African countries do not even meet the basic qualities. As a result, local people are forced to watch other nation’s films. Finally, films which are produced in developed countries are highly animated and provide altogether different experience. Cinema has become an integral part of the culture and even some the countries are known because of their cinema industry. Countries see it as a chance to tell their local stories and exhibit their culture. Moreover, cinema has emerged as a new industry and not only entertain the people but also generate employment for millions of people depending on the size of the industry. For instance, Government of India has waived of entertainment taxes for locally produced films in order to motivate the local producers and generate local employment. To sum up, Quality of films, interesting stories and use of technology in the foreign film attracts the people to watch the films produced in other countries. I also hold the view that government should provide adequate financial support to local cinema industries for promoting native art & culture.