People nowadays work hard to buy more things. This has made our life generally more comfortable but it is a pity many traditional values have been lost on the way to such materialism. To what extent do you agree or disagree with the statement?

In the modern era, everybody wants to become a rich person and they work hard to achieve various amenities in order to make life comfortable. However, it is believed that old values have been disappeared due to materialism. In my opinion, the modern way to earn name and fame is a big caused to lost traditional values. However, this does not apply to every individual because some of them still attain their ethical values and working hard in this world. First of all, hard competition between people makes them materialist because everybody wants to do the same thing as their competitors. For example, One’s buy a specious house by his or her hard work, other people want to challenge them and buy an expensive home and vehicle. Therefore, when a person attracts by materialism, he or she tries to possess it by hook or by crook and does not hesitate to follow the unethical modes for it. On the other hand, this case is not for all the people who work hard to fulfil their daily needs. Majority of individuals balance their life between ethical values and materialism. Such as, there are various traditional singers or actors who get fame by their hard work in previous years. Nowadays, they are still working to make their life easy. However, they are still attached to their cultural roots. Hence, they have created their own way of upbringing the ancestral values as well as responding to the need of the materialistic world. In conclusion, work hard is important in order to achieve daily needs and survive in this world. However, some people forget their traditional values and become materialistic when they get comfortable life with all amenities.