Museum and historical sites are mainly visited by tourists, not the local people. Why is this so? What could be done to encourage more local visitors?

Historical places have long been a staple destination for tourists recently. However, in recent years there is not an inclination for local people to visit these sites and these places are always packed with tourists. There are several reasons for this problem and various measures can be taken by governments to improve this situation. The high cost of entrance fee and monotonous atmosphere are the main causes of discouragement of local people to go to museums. From an economic standpoint, this amount might be desirable for the tourists who choose travelling and they are aware of this cost. However, indigenous people are less likely to spend for visiting the place that they have already known what they expect to see. At the same time, a boring ambience of historical sites is another reason. Since local have basic knowledge about the history of their country, there is nothing interesting in persuading them to visit there. Therefore, these places can be found a waste of money and time entirely. Encouraging locals and lower admission fee are the keys to solving this problem. One should note that it is governments' responsibility to put forward so as to boost the proficiency of historical sites. They can encourage people of the country to visit these places and transfer their observation to the next generation. People find these places more enjoyable if especial events and festivals are held there. Besides, imposing especial offer, discounts and free entrance at weekend, for instance, would be another way to attract the attention of local residents. To sum up, lack of local represents will only address if several steps such as rewarding local and making museums enjoyable taken into consideration.