Children nowadays spend a great deal of time watching television. However, television cannot replace the book as a learning tool, which is why children are less well‐educated today.

By the advance of technology and the advent of television, some include television as the main reason for being less well educated among students. They also argue that television cannot assume as an educational tool and couldn’t be a substitute for books. Although I do not completely disagree with this idea, I believe there are some points need to be put forward about this which I will elaborate in the following paragraphs. All around the world children spend a great amount of time in front of the television set watching numerous programs which are mostly has produced just for entertainment them. According to psychological research were published, dedicating proper time for recreation is necessary for children and even adult which a part of this time could be allocated for watching television. Overly watching television could lead to not only educational drop but also obesity and related disease such as diabetes, therefore it should be under control. Since children are not able to schedule for their leisure time so they might end up watching tv more than they should, parents are responsible to be sure that their children are spending appropriate time watching television. Thus, assuming children are less educated today, parents should be blamed, not television. The other focus point is that though television or any other tech couldn’t and should not be considered as a substitute for books, some programs with educational purpose could be produced. In my opinion, it totally depends on us to how to use technologies to be less destructive and be more beneficial and television is not an exception. In conclusion, in our modern world with novel technologies and entertainments including television it’s hard to concentrate on the main aspects of life like education, family, exercising and etc. , especially for children. Therefore, parents should make sure that their children watch television only at times they have planned for them.