People now spend more and more time at home than in the past. What are the reasons for this development and what its effects on people and society.

Nowadays, people are increasingly spending extensive amount of time at home. While technological development and change in employment structure are responsible for this growing trend, it has immense impact on the individuals and the society at large that we will be considering in this essay. One compelling reason why people remain indoors in this generation far longer than at previous times is because of growth in technology. In other words, many people find the opportunity that technological advancement provides as a good reason to spend less time outdoors. For example, the advances in computer and internet have given rise to social media, which has substituted for a number of people the need to meet face to face that is usually required to keep relationships going. This is because you can make video calls and avoid meeting with friends these days unlike in past generations. Inaddition, a shift in workplace organization has contributed greatly to individuals remaining indoors more than what was obtainable in the past. Presently, numerous companies and businesses allow their staff to work from home and this is something that was erstwhile absent in the workplace setup. This further reduces the length of time these employees have to be away from home. Undoubtedly, this development has impacted significantly on people and the wider society. Owing to people spending preponderance amount of the time available to them indoors, they are burgeoningly growing lonely. For instance, when people spend bulk of their time at home watching television, they hardly have time to socialize with their peers. Consequently, the number of lonely people in our society has increased. Also, this has culminated in rising health concern for individuals and the society. Researches have shown that humans are social animals that if isolated for extended duration, get adversely affected. This results in mental challenge problems, which is why people become driven to insanity and suicidal thoughts when incarcerated over time. The enormous cost of managing these problems is a serious drawback for nations around the world such as Lithuania where suicide rate has reportedly snowballed for this reason. In conclusion, for some obvious reasons that are examined in this article, the trend of people living apart from others by spending more of their time at home has led to having huge population of lonely people and surging mental health concern that is having damaging effects on individuals and the society. Given this situation, concerted effort should be made by everyone in order to forestall this negative development.