Shopping is become more and more popular as leisure activity. However, some people feel that this has both positive and negative effects? Why is shopping so popular? What effects does its popularity have on individuals and on society?

In this contemporary world, there are varieties of options to select from to purchase any products. Some people are fond of buying items in a shopping centre, while others choose to visit a local vendor for a same purpose. This essay will highlight the benefits of both places and explain why malls are a better option than the next one. To begin with, any material bought from the local shops is way more cheaper than other places. As such outlets sell local products mainly or sometimes second hand ones so they tend to cost less than an international branded products. For instance, 34% of the people in Kathmandu prefer purchasing thing in China Market, a popular local market, provided that they are economical. Therefore, such places attract a lot of buyers due to its convenient fare. However, the quality of the material is extremely of high level in the shopping centres. Such outlets have a reputation of its own, and only allocate product from a branded company or from a top level factories so helps in providing a qualitative item in their store. To illustrate, Bhat Bhateni, a renowned shopping mall of Nepal, only sells things of high standard and refunds money back to the customer for any inconveniences found in those items. Thus, such markets are of utmost significance for obtaining high calibre materials. In conclusion, I prefer buying from the shopping centre as materials are of great quality regardless of the cost as well as such places provide a small cafeteria which is extremely reliable after a hectic shopping day.