‘People who do not use social media networks will always fall behind in career development opportunities. ’

The issue of whether the use of social networks has a significant role in employees’ career development and progress has been a debatable topic in recent years. In my opinion, this could have a great deal of importance; however, it is unlogic to assume that it is the only way that always achieves this progression. This essay will analyse this issue with examples from the business magazine and the USA. There is no doubt that social platforms have played a crucial role in career improvement. This is because having an immense colleagues’ circle would open the door for a worker to be informed about many job opportunities in other places. This is particularly true with specialised social networks such as Linkedin, for instance, which has been appreciated by The Business Magazine as the number one website connecting workers from different areas around the globe who have the same specialty. Therefore, the employee can find a worldwide career opportunities in different countries through their mates chatting and vacant positions posts. Despite this obvious importance of social media, there are many contributing factors to develop employees’ career. Firstly, the continuous learning of one's field of work. For example, in the USA, ministry of health reported that online courses allow doctors to be up-to-date on recent breakthroughs in their fields should be included in physicians’ CV. As well as that, workers who develop more soft skills have more chances to be promoted than the others. A case in point is the managerial positions which need many skills such as cooperation, teamwork, and leading abilities. If an employee developed them, he could be the perfect individual to be promoted as a manager. In conclusion, although social media websites have an increasingly growing role in career enhancement, it seems that many other vital factors should be considered. Undoubtedly, acquiring advanced qualifications and work related skills are far more effective ways for job development and career progress.