Government investment in the arts, such as music and theatre, is a waste of money. Governments must invest this money in public services instead. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

There has been much discussion revolving around the decision of Government money investment in arts and public services. Although, I agree that it is important to spend money on public services, I do not think spending on the arts is a waste of money. The merits of public services and people who are getting benefits are apparent. Firstly, public services like Hospitals, education, roads are key to everyone life in this day and age. This is mainly due to fact that middle/poor class people are mainly depend on public services. If, Government does investment in public services than we will not get proper service from related sectors. As for common men there are some basic needs which they are not able to fulfill such as food, home, cloths. So, basically if Government spend money on basic entities that will not only create jobs but, it will make people life easier, and they can get home and enough food to survive. For example, average men can get basic medical treatment free or at minimum cost from Government Hospitals as compare to private Hospitals. They don't have to travel to another city for basic facilities. In contrast, some others may claim that arts, such as music and theatre are play vital role in country development. Apparently, It creates opportunities for jobless and represent the history of any country. However, in modern-day society, arts such as music and theatre are necessary for the entertainment and it helps everyone to make their lives as enjoyable. It can be seen that spending on the arts is not a waste of money. Having considered both views, I think Government investment in public services are of overriding investment in arts. Also, I would suggest that Government to provide basic services related to food, electricity and education, which I believe is soundly based on the above reasoning I have presented.