People in all modern societies use drugs, but today's youth are experimenting with both legal and illegal drugs, and at an increasingly early age. Some sociologists claim that parents and other members of society often set a bad example. Discuss the causes and some effects of widespread drug use by young people in modern day society. Make any recommendations you feel are necessary to help fight youth drug abuse.

Experimentations of the youth with legal and illegal substances are now increasing in many modern counties that sociologists blame the parents and other citizens about this matter. Though, the roots of this problem are mainly family issues and peer pressure, there some ways in which the problem of drug addiction among the youth can be solved. There are two main reasons as to why the youth is facing drug addiction. Firstly, many young people are now trying different substances due to problems in the family. Issues, such as parents’ separation, can be a cause of lack in parental supervision, wherein the youngster may feel unloved and resort to using drugs. Secondly, many of the youth today are addicted to drugs because of their circle of friends. The majority of drug addicted teenagers today admit that they get pressured to use drugs as their peers are using it as well and, therefore, fulfil their lack of sense of belongingness to a group. Nevertheless, there are some solutions to help combat drug addiction of the youth. One is that governments can offer programs that can increase the knowledge of parents about substance abuse. This can help increase the interest of the parents on how to deal and prevent drug abuse among their teens; helping them to supervise their youngsters as well. Another step to take in this battle of drug abuse among the youth is the counselling help for separating families. Parents who are divorcing should involve their children, especially their teenagers, in finding psychological support. This can assist them in finding ways to express their grief and sadness towards their broken family, rather than abusing drugs. In conclusion, despite the causes that paved way for youth drug addiction, there are strategies that governments and families can apply to help mitigate this problem.