People in all modern societies use drugs, but today's youth are experimenting with both legal and illegal drugs, and at an increasingly early age. Some sociologists claim that parents and other members of society often set a bad example. Discuss the causes and some effects of widespread drug use by young people in modern day society. Make any recommendations you feel are necessary to help fight youth drug abuse.

Drugs nowadays are ubiquitous. However, the decline of age when teenagers start experimenting with legal as well as illegal drugs is blamed on inappropriate examples set by parents and other society members. As with any social issue, there are various causes and effects of such behaviour. Fortunately, some actions can be taken to ameliorate the problem. The issue of drug abuse among school students seems to have two main causes. Firstly, all the youth are curious about the world and new experiences. If they hear the stories how others felt after taking a particular substance, they will be keen to experience such a state themselves. For instance, heroin might cause hallucinations, which many find appealing due to being able to escape from the real world. Another reason why many teenagers take drugs is boredom. In some social circles the young have no opportunities to pursue their hobbies. Combining that with the pleasurable effects of some chemical substances results in taking those legal and illegal drugs as often as possible. Unfortunately, this has serious consequences. In the majority of cases, drug abuse leads to addiction. At this point drugs would be the highest priority for a young person. Hence, many of them might drop out of school, or even become thefts to get money for they favourite substance. Not to mention a potential health issues in heavy drug users. This is because most ingested of inhaled substances after being absorbed to the blood stream pass through the liver, where they are metabolised. Many drugs or their metabolites are toxic to the liver and other organs. Therefore, abusing drugs might be a cause of acute organ failure or even death. By examining the causes of this worrying trend some recommendations can be made. In the case of all problems it is better to prevent rather than treat. Thus, education about substance abuse ought to be mandatory in every school in addition to a wide offer of extracurricular activities for students, so that they can develop their interests instead of turning to drugs, which is often caused by boredom. To conclude, curiosity and lack of hobbies bring many young to experiment with drugs, which bears serious social and health consequences. The prevention by lessons on drug abuse problem and engaging students in after-school activities, in my opinion, would be the most effective method to tackle the problem.