People in all modern societies use drugs, but today's youth are experimenting with both legal and illegal drugs, and at an increasing early stage. Some sociologists claim that parents and other members of society often set a bad example. Discuss the causes and effects of widespread drug use by young people. Make recommendations you feel are necessary to help fight drug abuse.

In this expeditiously transforming era, the usage of drugs, both legal and illegal, has proliferated by leaps and bounds, especially at an early stage of life. There are many reasons behind this mentality change and some claim that parents and other vicious members of the society often play a negative role in the same. There are various causes which have been leading to such an extensive consumption. To accentuate, let us take the most prevalent issue of unhealthy lifestyle. Today, many millennials are unable to handle the work pressure and maintain the appropriate work life balance, as a result, they consume anti-depressants and other drugs to relax their mind and body. Moreover, the current disease prone society is highly dependent on medicines and other supplements for any type of minor difficulty, instead of natural solutions or remedies. Although they might be legal, but the dependency has been inflated. As we rightly say that the excess of anything is malicious, overdose of a lot of medicines has awful long term effects. For instance, amplified use of paracetamol drug makes the body, which is dependent on the external support, unable to fight for its immunity. Apart from this, the consumption of certain illegal drugs makes the senses slow. Furthermore, the memory of people exposed to drugs might also get harmed, as the effect is directly on the brain nerves. Before this problem takes the shape of a hideous monster, strict measures should be taken to control it. Parents need to check the activities of their children and mitigate the chance of getting under any bad influence. The current generation should try to make their lives less stressful, so that the dependency on drugs is reduced. Many campaigns can be started in schools and colleges for awareness. To summarize, I would propound that the burgeoning number of drug addicts is a matter of serious concern and some major causes include the unhealthy contemporary lifestyle. This has led to some severe effects not only on health but on the society as well. Hence, recommended steps should be taken so that this prodigious problem is nipped in bud, and the we move towards a fit mindset.