People in all modern societies use drugs, but today’s youth are experimenting with both legal and illegal drugs, and at an early age. Some sociologists claim that parents and other members of society often set a bad example. Discuss the cause and effects of widespread drug abuse by young people. Make any recommendations you feel are necessary to help fight youth drug abuse.

Nowadays, youth drug abuse has increased at an alarming rate in many societies which is leading to unhealthy lifestyle and setting bad trends in society. Unaware of their effects, adolescents are experimenting with both allowed and prohibited drugs in early childhood age. Sociologists believe that parents and other members of society are responsible for its increase usage. This essay will analyse the cause and effect of taking drugs and will make some recommendations to eradicate this abuse. The very first reason in drug adoption in youth is primarily due to parents, guardians and social circle. Parents may consume drugs to remain active at work or to relieve their bodies from mental stresses of everyday life. For instance, a divorced mother consuming drugs to comfort herself from the horror of past will set a bad example for her children to follow. This act will lead to an unhealthy lifestyle where children will opt to do the same. Another compelling reason which has significantly increased the drug usage is media and pressures to perform well in studies. Youth is challenged to deliver the most in academic institutes and this pressure forces them to consume both legal and illegal drugs. Media also plays a vital role, for instance, body building and other fitness advertisements portraits how mega mass and other medicines can help grow their muscles in a matter of time or lose weight in days. Though these look appealing and their continued usage without consulting a physician will have adverse effects on the body and will harm it in the longer run. To conclude, I recommend that the only possible way to eradicate this acute problem is through organising drug awareness and counselling programs. Government and civil society should put in their efforts to educate young people about the harmful effects of drugs addiction and should provide counselling services where required. By the passage of time, these practices will ensure that adolescents of our society will live a healthy life free from drugs and other harmful medication.