People in all modern societies use drugs, but today’s youth are experimenting with both legal and illegal drugs, and at an early age. Some sociologists claim that parents and other members of society often set a bad example. Discuss the cause and effects of widespread drug abuse by young people. Make any recommendations you feel are necessary to help fight youth drug abuse.

It is a fact that most people in this modern era consume drugs either because doctors prescribe them or they take the medicines themselves. But it is noticed that the young people are consuming both legal and illegal drugs from an early age and this is indeed a concerning issue in today's society. Some experts believe that it is the fault of the parents and others members of communities that show an inappropriate example. Easy access to drugs is another problem that accelerates the depth of this concerning issue. The following essay will discuss the causes, effects and solutions that can be considered to resolve the issue. For a number of reasons, many young generations are using legal and illegal drugs nowadays. Firstly, many teenagers are taking drugs due to the fact that they want to be relieved from the family problems. One of the examples is that their parents' marriage might not be working out well and could be in a divorce stage. These teens are stressed out with a bad family condition and the way to release it for them is to consume drugs. Secondly, many young people are using drugs because they live in an unsafe neighbourhood. They live in a society where as most of the adults are consuming drugs and drug dealers are moving around in the area. They could be friends with drug users and dealers, and in the end, they will also consume the drugs. Curiosity and lack of proper guideline are the two other reasons many young declines towards drug use. Most interestingly in many modern societies abusing drugs has become a fashion trend and many young simply follow this trend and as a consequence get trapped. Easy access to drugs in many countries and lack of monitoring by the authority lead to drug abuse by many young. Many young people are abusing drugs and this results in serious problems. One of the effects is that these drugs are affecting their brain and mental conditions. Without consuming the drugs, they cannot think clearly and they would act like a paranoid without proper care. Another serious effect is that some of these young people might not have enough money to purchase the drug, but as they are addicted to it, they would do anything to get it. They might steal things, become a thief or even rob a store. The overall impact of this in a society is quite dangerous and the young who are meant to lead the society in the future are simply destroying their potential. There are several things that people and government could do to resolve the issue. The government could make a campaign about how to raise young people and how to maintain the marriage. These campaigns must be socialised to all family members and show the impact of a bad marriage to young people. And then the government should also give more attention to high crime areas. Drug dealers must be arrested and drug users must be punished and sentenced to jail. By implementing these solutions, it is hoped that it will reduce the number of young people who consume drugs.