In the past, when student did a university degree, they tended to study in their own country. Nowadays, they have more opportunity to study abroad. What are the advantage and disadvantage of this development?

Some would say that once students liked to acquire tertiary education in their nation, but now they would go to a foreign country to study. This essay will argue that although they may not return their own country and have the possibility of brain drain, they have better education and higher salary to study abroad. One evident benefit of going to a foreign nation is to get the best quality education and high salary. That is to say, developed countries provide a standard level of education and modern lap facilities which make students learn more and earn more knowledge. By doing a course in a foreign country, they may have more possibility to get a job in a global company which may pay higher money compared to their own country companies. For example, one of my friends went to Sydney University to pursue his MBA and now he works at Google and earned a lot of money. The main drawbacks would be the brain drain. If more and more students go abroad for their education and tend to stay there, there will be an imbalance in any nation. The reason is that a developed nation likes to take intelligent persons by giving scholarships from an underdeveloped country. By doing this, the developing countries are suffering more in the long run. For example, a survey found that 90% of students who went abroad for higher study and did not return and this mean that poorer nation becomes poorer for lack of intelligent people. In conclusion, although they may not come back home by getting more opportunities, it is their own choice because they spend their own money on their study and it is fair to take their own decisions.