People eat more processed food than they did in the past. Why is this? What are the effects of this?

Undoubtedly, nowadays peoples' eating habits have changed and such change involves that people have tended to consume more processed food than ever before in the past. Shift in this approach is due to present's hectic lifestyle. However, this approach is associated with many health related problems. To begin with, owing to the fast paced modern lifestyle, people have staarted to consume processed food. To simply put this, current global market is extremely competitive, due to which people are required to work harder and longer hours than they worked in the past and this trend simply takes their cooking time away. For example, according to a research, more than half of the employees in Newyork, nowadays, spend most of their time at work instead of cooking their meals at home. Therefore, modern way of living allow people to be more competitive and stay emphasised at work, rather than actually devoting their time to cook fresh lunches and dinners. However, there are serious consequences on individual's heath because of growth in processed food consumption. Clearly, processed food is made by altering it's natural form for peoples' comfort and convenience, such as to make it taste better, though, this process may invlove adding chemicals, preservatives and sugar. Consequently, consumers may be taking additional amount of sugar than recommended. Thus, health problems namely, diabetes, cardiovascular disease and obesity are directly connected to consumption of convenience food. To conclude, being competitive in the global market has changed people to eat more processed food and people have been facing problems associated with their health.