People eat more processed food than they did in the past. Why is this? What are the effects of this?

In the last few decades, the consumption of ready-made meals has increased dramatically. For people with long working hours, this is a fast and easy way to feed themselves. Precooked food might be convenient and time-saving, but it is also unhealthy and can lead to several illnesses. This essay will discuss why people prefer processed meals over fresh produce and what effects this might have on them. Nowadays, most people are forced to spend long hours in the office, leaving little time for anything else, including the preparation of a healthy dinner. Most people find it more convenient to purchase a ready-made meal instead of spending more of their time preparing it themselves. A very good example would be, where both parents need to work long hours and then still needs to prepare dinner, do homework with the kids and have family time, leaving no time for oneself. Clearly, a processed diet is more convenient and time-efficient but also have its downside. Processed food contains a lot of chemical preservatives, salt and sugar to keep it fresh and editable for longer periods. This is very unhealthy in the long run and can cause diseases such as obesity, cholesterol, diabetes and even heart diseases. Recent studies in South Africa showed that almost 65% of people who only eat treated food tends to get one of these illnesses starting at an age as young as 8 years old. In conclusion, people with a busy lifestyle prefer the convenience of ready-made meals even though being aware of the unhealthy side effects caused by this food.