People eat more and more processed food than they did in the past. Why is this? What are the effects of this?

Nowadays people consume too much processed foods compared to many years ago. This has been attributed by advances in technology and it had resulted in increased health related disease conditions. The 21st century is characterised by advances in technology which has an impact on food industry. Many foods are now being processed which used to be consumed raw in the past. Genetically modified foods are now the order of the day. For instance, long back, there was no tinned meat or pasteurized milk. The food items had all its nutrients organically, compared to nowadays, as some nutrients are removed during the processing period. In addition, life expectancy is now reduced due to outbreak of cardiovascular conditions, diabetes mellitus and cancer which are related to consumption of processed foods. Junk food is now the order of the day, as people consume whatever readily available. For example, in Zimbabwe people used to eat organic meat and vegetables without high fat content, but now they are genetically modified with high level of fat which has caused outbreak of cardiovascular conditions due high cholesterol level in the body. In conclusion, progression in technology has resulted in consumption of too many processed foods which is a hazard to health and cause early death due to food related illnesses and chemical poisons obtained during food processing.