Maintaining public libraries is a waste of time since computer technology is now replacing their functions.

It is undeniable that the use of technology is constantly increasing in all spheres of lives. Therefore, some people believe that the public libraries has been substituted by the computers in this techno-savvy era. This essay will argue why the maintenance of public libraries is entirely necessary despite some potential benefits of the technology in terms of To begin with, the existence of libraries will always be intact as these are the source of vast knowledge so that computers and the Internet could never replace them. The libraries are funded by the government in order to educate their citizens as these are considered as calm and quiet place to learn, even senior citizens are much concerned towards libraries and they come to the library regularly in order to update their knowledge about their surroundings. Indeed, there have some recorded instances of people who preferred to study in the libraries as they feel connected to themselves being in the concentrated environment. These few instances make it clear that the role of libraries even in the modern era of scientific inventions would be worthwhile in many ways. Despite this, the use of technology is progressively rising in all areas. The versatility of technology makes it convenient to grab the information related to anything, just in one click, as the world of internet is so gigantic. Moreover, e-books also available online so in that case the role of the library is almost negligible because most of the young generation tends to choose internet in order to find the information. For example, one research article suggests that internet superseded the role of libraries by 70%. Overall, the idea of insisting towards technology over the libraries could potentially lead towards the convenience. To conclude, this essay argued that people who are favoured the extinction of libraries have a flawed understanding because both have their own unique roles and at the same time having concerns with maintaining these building for getting knowledge is an absolute imperative.