People eat more processed food than they did in the past, why is this and what are the effects of this?

In the 21st century, with the furtherance of food processing technology, variety of packed food items are available to general public. Easy to eat packed foods also known as fast foods, are popular choice of public due to their fast availability and prolonged shelf-life. In this essay reasons for the trend of increased consumption of less nutritional and fortified foods to that of, the earlier times is put forth. The native staple diets are getting replaced by junk items by due to fast pace and industrial culture. it has been observed that industrial culture making life busier hence, working class prefers time-saving options for food. The time-saving items are pre-mixed items, ready to cook, ready to serve packets and beverages for snacks and main meals. such variety of snacks and lunch options replace home-made food as well as tiffins at work as well. So with the modern life style and multiple meal options it is noted that the diet have become more unhealthy than past. With the food processing to meet extended self-life and enhance convenience, orignal diet traditions are vanishing along with health. First, food processing makes natural food stuff to lose nutrition content during processing and this produces food with empty calories, such as potato chips. Secondly various processes make food less organoleptic and this compensated by addition of synthetic additives and pigments such as dyes and salts. Together empty calories and supplemental chemicals cause harm to vital organs as well as weight gain. With the more and more inclusion of such non-conventional in the diet it has become for common reason of health problems. In conclusion, the unhealthy diets habits and meal options altogether leads to various health complications and cost us well-being and money.