People buy things which they don't need. Why this is happening? Is it a positive or negative development for the Individual and for society?

As compared to the past decades, it has been observed that people have become shopaholic. People nowadays buy things that are not required but only attracts them. In my opinion it is a negative development not only for individual but for the society as a whole. I shall discuss this phenomenon in more detail with valid arguments and examples. To begin with, people buying behavior has been adversely affected by the media. Media showcases the products in such an attractive way that It looks appealing and people tend to buy it; irrespective they need it or not. For instance, I saw an ad over television of fruit cutting equipment. I got so fascinated by the advertisement that I bought that product knowing that it was not an essential kitchen item. Thus media has influenced people’s purchasing patterns. To elucidate my stance further, I would like to mention another important aspect that is the mindset of people to stay on top in terms of buying and spending money. The status symbol and showoff race has encircled people in such a way that they don’t feel reluctant buying expensive and irrelevant items. For instance, in my family, people are racing for buying big television screens. One bought 60 inches and the other family bought 95 inches in a week’s time just to show off that they are richer. To recapitulate the aforementioned argument, I opine that people have developed inappropriate approach of purchasing unnecessary items in order to be considered rich and super cool. Unfortunately, this dilemma has been taking strength every passing day and we may find people spending their all savings into buying unimportant items for no good reason.