People buy things which they don't need. Why this is happening? Is it a positive or negative development for the Individual and for society?

It is thought by some people that the way children are brought up by their parents determines their success. I disagree with this statement as many successful people were raised in orphanages or by bad parents and that success is a result of one’s hard work. Many people who were brought up by bad parents became successful, which proves that success has nothing to do with one’s family. Although some might think that parents influence one’s character to some extent, I would say that it is always up to the person to decide which path to follow and who to become. Growing up in a toxic family can serve as a motivation for individuals to work hard and become independent so that they can move out and escape their families. For example, Oprah Winfrey, who was raised by a toxic family that neglected her and abused her during her childhood, yet she became one of the most successful and influential women in the world. Success always depends on how hard people work and their determination to succeed in life rather than one’s family and background. Even if individuals were brought up by great parents, they would never succeed in their careers if they did not take the right steps and pursue their dreams. For instance, many university students who live in harmonious and supportive families, fail in their studies and, consequently, never succeed in their careers and might enter the poverty cycle. This is due to not taking their studies seriously and not improving their skills, which proves that success depends on a person’s character and efforts. In conclusion, when people apply themselves and work hard to achieve their goals, they can be successful no matter what families or backgrounds they came from.