People attend colleges or universities for many different reasons (for example, new experiences, career preparation, increased knowledge etc. ). Why do you think people attend colleges or universities?

The government and citizens of a country sometimes have contrasting views about how their country’s progress should be measured. While I agree that economic progress is essential, I believe that other forms of progress are just as important. There are three key reasons why economic growth is considered by governments around the world to be the fundamental metric for national progress. First, a healthy economy results in a more satisfied citizenry as unemployment is lower than during periods of economic unrest. Second, economic progress generates more tax revenue for governments. This in turn allows governments to invest in social services, healthcare, education, military or whatever else they see as necessary. Finally, a strong economy can help a country improve or maintain a country’s international reputation, which allows for more influence and trading power on the global stage. Nonetheless, other forms of progress that exist independent of economic progress can be equally relevant in measuring a country’s success. A country’s adult literacy rate, for example, can be used to measure social equality as well as economic growth potential. This is because literate adults are able to partake in skilled labor and are also likely to pass on their literacy skills to the next generation. Another key measure of progress is how well the country is protecting its natural environment. Regardless of the wealth of a country, it will not have a satisfied and healthy population if the environment is in ruin. Alternatively, the overall happiness of its residents can be an extremely relevant measure of a country’s success. In conclusion, while it is obvious that economic health is a key marker of a country’s success, other educational, environmental, and psychological metrics are equally significant.