People attend colleges or universities for many different reasons (for example, new experiences, career preparation, increased knowledge). Why do you think people attend colleges or universities?

Students attend formal educational institutes for many different factors. I personally believe that knowledge has multiple dimensional impacts in personality making. Higher education centres help the people in learning of knowledge, skill, communication, competitive lifestyle, grooming, personality making and building of confidence and career. Some people join them for the sake of getting degrees only. A few decades ago people were not well averred about a variety of education and about the outcome of certain degree and skill. Nowadays the trend has increased for youth in attending universities and colleges. Huge proportions of people plan their career and then get their education accordingly.   Some students opt to these institutes for the sake of professional education. Doctors, engineers, financial consultant learn knowledge, skill, implementation of knowledge and also get degree and licence to practice from these organisations. These institutes provide competitive environments that make them more polished and skilled. Some students get indulged into politics and after their education, they choose politics as their career. Although most of the students join these institutes in very purposeful manner but some people join them unplanned. Children of elite class join these education centres for the sake of fun only. Few female students complete their education very successfully and after completing their studies they like to get married and keep on staying at their home. Just for the sake of comparison if we analyse people who got their education from universities and colleges with those who got these degrees by studying distant education resources, we will get amazing differences. Students from many prestigious institutions will be better groomed, professional and hard working as compared to others. In short colleges and universities improve the human personality from many angles.   They award degrees and try to make the wonderful citizens also. To summarise, higher education centres are mandatory in building a Nation.