People attend colleges or universities for many different reasons (for example, new experiences, career preparation, increased knowledge). Why do you think people attend colleges or universities?

Many people choose to go to college or university and there are a variety of reasons why they choose to do so. For instance, some may prefer further studies to gain educational qualifications required for a competent workplace and high career prospects; meanwhile, a few others might choose to pursue their studies to gain new experiences compared to the very structured form of education experienced in high school. On the other hand, pursuing higher studies seem as the only choice or as the next step that is assumed to be taken. Considering the first reason into consideration, higher studies are indeed required to secure a high paid and reputable designation at a workplace. This is because many employers set competitive recruitment standards to hire the most qualified and suitable candidate for the vacancy. As a result, applicants need not only extensive work experience but also the educational requirements that can enhance working knowledge. Moving onto the second choice as to why people tend to go to college or university is as mentioned before, to gain new experience since high schools set a very structured study environment. This is at least true considering high schools in Sri Lanka where a fixed syllabus is supposed to be followed and any other additional topics or subjects not included in the syllabus will not be taught or considered. Therefore, students are forced to study only what is taught. However, life in college or university is very different as the individual is given more freedom to research on other areas of interest and have the space to be more creative. On the contrary, once again taking the Sri Lankan culture into consideration, most individuals are convinced by parents to pursue higher studies as it sets them apart from individuals who start work immediately upon completing high school. Therefore, pursuing higher studies is indeed a prestige and a privilege as not all students have the ability or opportunity to do so. As a result, attending college or university can sometimes not be exclusively the individual’s choice but merely an obligation that is meant to be met in order to satisfy parental standards or requirements. In conclusion, my personal opinions are as mentioned above but there are numerous other reasons as to why someone would want to go to college or university and may vary from one individual to another. However, though the reasons tend to differ, it is always admirable that many people choose to pursue higher studies than discontinuing studies after high school.