People argue that raising children in today’s society is more difficult than in the past. Others believe that it is much easier due to all the innovations.

Whereas some argue that raising children in our modern society is harder than in old times, others claim that it is much simpler because of new inventions. In my opinion, while in the past children were not so exposed to strangers as today, raising a child nowadays is easier due to innovations in health care. Firstly, innovations in health care have helped people to have proper medical care for their children. It is cheaper than ever to offer health care for a child on his or her early stage of life. For example, vaccination costs dropped consistently due to recent innovations on medical methods and equipments. Thus, child mortality has declined significantly over the past decades, especially for developing countries. On the other hand, new technologies have made easier for children to access internet which increased the risk of exposing them to strangers. Children are easily fooled by strangers and parents are not always monitoring their access to internet as they should. For instance, a stranger can convince a child to meet him and do to the child some harm. Consequently, restricting children access to internet can mitigate this risk but will not solve the problem completely. In conclusion, while improvements in health care system have made the task of raising a child easier, internet access presents a risk at the moment children can get in contact with strangers. Therefore, in my opinion the innovations in health care systems outweigh the risk of exposing the children on internet.