People are living in a ‘throwaway society’, using things for a short time and then throwing them away. What are the causes of this? What problems does it lead to?

It is true that these days, people tend to throw the old items away regardless of whether they are still in good conditions or not to purchase the latest versions. There are a variety of reasons leading to this phenomenon, and this definitely has numerous negative impacts to the society. On the one hand, one of the most obvious causes of this trend is the advertisements. It is undeniable that many ads have succeeded in encouraging people to purchase the novelty products by delivering a message that possessing the latest version can help individuals improve their self-image and social status. For example, various teenagers are willing to spend a huge amount of money to purchase an Iphone X to show their wealth, even though their old mobile phones are still perfectly functional. Another reason is the mass production of disposable items, which are undoubtedly cheaper and more convenient for consumers. On the other hand, this situation would lead to numerous serious problems. Firstly, young people who have a habit of buying the latest items might get into serious debt. This, consequently, would have a negative impact on their mental health, such as causing anxiety or even depression. Secondly, the excessive production of non-durable goods can result in the environment degradation. This is because a huge amount of waste will be discharged into the environment, which would certainly contaminate soil and water. In conclusion, I would suppose that advertisements and the excessive number of disposable products are the main contributors to the “throwaway society”, and both people and environment will be affected negatively due to this trend.