People are living in a throwaway society. using things for a short time and then throwing them away. What are the causes of this? What problems does it lead to?

In recent times/these days/nowadays, globalization and advanced technology have led to the phenomenon of consumerism whereby people use various goods for a short span of time/duration and as the newness/novelty of such goods fade, they tend to replace it with a new one. This trend has resulted in the evolution of a throwaway society which would have devastating consequences for human existence. Therefore, it is imperative to dissect the causes of this menace so that it could be properly addressed. 75 words There are various reasons for our penchant for consuming more goods and disposing them off soon after consumption. One of the main reasons is our materialistic lifestyle. Owning things become important when we have an internal void. So, this internal deprivation is filled with external, materialistic things. Hence, our materialistic lifestyle fuels our consumption habit. Moreover, our status consciousness contributes to this problem. We want to have the latest version of cell phones and gadgets, drive latest car, wear fancy and fashionable clothes just to keep up with the Joneses. Furthermore, an increase in wealth and disposable income has given consumers the liberty to overspend and often people are addicted to shopping, going on a shopping spree and splurging heaps of money. 120 words As our demand for consumables would increase, more resources would be required to produce those goods. Consequently, this phenomenon of a throwaway society would adversely affect our lives. First and the foremost, it will result in degradation of environment in the form of destruction of ecosystem, habitat destruction. Toxic industrial waste would have deleterious effects on the environment. We are already confronting the challenge of global warming. For example, China, which is the biggest manufacturer and exporter of goods and services and has a huge industrial base and where air pollution is rife, is facing a raft of environmental problems. Moreover, such consumption patterns could lead to a society of haves and haves not which could cause various social problems. 117 words In the nutshell, various causes and effects of the throwaway society were pinned down in this essay. Various factors like globalization, consumerism, materialism and status consciousness of individuals give rise to the problem. If the problems persist and solutions are not devised, it might not augur well for mankind and could make this planet uninhabitable.