Many university students live with their families, while others live away from home because their universities are in different places. What are the advantages and disadvantages of both situations?

These days, many students are forced to live by their own to pursue higher education, while others are able to live with their parents. From my perspective, both situations have their benefits and drawbacks. On the one hand, there are two main merits of living alone. Firstly, living away from home encourages student’s independence. The reason is that they need to do all the chores by themselves such as cooking or cleaning. Secondly, university students who live by themselves have to balance their study and doing housework. As a result, they would have opportunities to develop the time management skill, which is certainly one of the most essential skills in their future and career. However, in order to pay for their expensive living cost, some students have to work while studying that might make them fall behind with their studies. On the other hand, those who live with their families do not need to worry much about the living cost and are able to economize since they do not have to pay for accommodation. Therefore, they can completely concentrate on studying to make the best performance at university. However, family routines are often disruptive for students who need to focus on their studies in a quiet atmosphere. Without a dedicated space for studying, it is hard for students to keep up with their study schedule. In conclusion, while there will be clearly differences in the personal circumstances of individual university students, some advantages and disadvantages of living alone and with families can be identified.