People are consuming more and more sugar-based drinks. Why? What can be done to reduce sugary drink consumption?

It is true that the consumption of sugar-based drinks has increased rapidly in recent years. There are a number of reasons behind this tendency and several solutions should be adopted by governments and individuals to improve the situation. There are two primary reasons why people are consuming more and more sugary drinks. One reason is that the beverage companies advertise attractively their products to many target audiences and this method encourages many people to buy and consume their product. Furthermore, sugar-based beverages had some advantages over other kinds of drink, such as distinct flavor, high energy and convenience, people find it easy to buy soft drinks anywhere, easy to concentrate on their work after using sugar-based beverages. These benefits fit the habits of modern humans who have a busy life. Fortunately, several measures could be taken to prevent the rise in the popularity of sugary drinks. Firstly, The authorities should raise tax on the sale of sugary drinks. This solution has been applied in some European countries such as England, France, Hungary, and others could implement too. A second measure would be broadening of health awareness on TV channels, the internet or social networks. In addition, the government would require beverage manufacturers to add health warnings on the label of their product like what tobacco companies have done. Finally, introducing restrictions on the consumption of sugary drinks in schools, bus stations, cinemas and hospitals by removing vending machines from public places. In conclusion, it is clear that there are various reasons for the increase in sugary drinks and steps need to be taken to tackle this problem.