A few language are increasingly spoken in different countries, while the usage of others is rapidly declining. Is this a positive or negative development?

A highly controversial issue today relates to whether it is essential for people to conduct activities that help develop their brains or relax their mind during leisure time. In this essay, I will examine this question from both points of view and then give my own opinion on the matter. On one side of the argument there are people who argue that the benefits of spending leisure time on doing things contributing to the development of their minds considerably outweigh its disadvantages. The main reason for believing this is that people can make use of their free time to pursue self-development. As a result, they will have much more time to develop themselves and have higher chance to be successful in life. For example, nowadays, people are usually busy, so they have little time to read books. However, if they exploit their leisure time and use it for reading books, they will be able to acquire more knowledge than others. On the other hand, it is also possible to make the opposing case. It is often argued that in fact it is very necessary for people to relax and refresh their mind in their free time. People often have this opinion because humans should have time to recharge their batteries after working flat out. In other words, human brain will get exhausted if it always works hard without pauses. Therefore, resting the mind can help human beings gain more energy to work effectively. For instance, I usually listen to music of meditation to refresh my soul after working for a whole day. After listening to my favorite category of music, I feel more energetic and happy to finish my work. In conclusion, I believe both arguments have their merits. On balance, however, I feel that it is very important for people to do recreational activities to rest their mind because it will help them gain more energy to continue to work.