People are becoming too dependent on the Internet and phone. Is it a positive or negative development?

Technology has taken over by leaps and bounds. The advent of the internet and cellular devices has a huge impact on the way we deal with our basic necessities. However, as luring the technology is, there are also a few setbacks caused by it. In this essay, we shall discuss the merits and demerits of this and try to find a possible conclusion. In the modern world, mobile phones and internet has become a daily requirement. Many people rely on them for personal as well as professional use. For example, the internet provides an array of information from different parts of the world in fractional amount of time. Additionally, communication has become faster and efficient through online messages or calls. Moreover, people rely on application available online to stream news or even to buy or sell products. In addition to this, many individual uses the world wide web to open business online or advertise, socialise and even attend meetings or conferences. On the contrary, there are two sides to a coin. Although, the benefits of this technology are substantial, the demerits can not be denied. For instance, studies suggest that there is a steep decline in the number of social interactions as people are getting more and more addicted to their smartphones. Furthermore, the information provided online is sceptical or lack evidences. To summarise, no rose comes without its own thorn, therefore, in my opinion, even though there are certain drawbacks about the technological advancement but the benefits outweigh the losses.