People are becoming too dependent on the Internet and phone. Is it a positive or negative development?

The contentious argument that whether incessant dependence over cell phones and internet possess more advantages or disadvantages erupts a heated debate among many. In this essay, I will illustrate both the merits and demerits and explain why it has negative impacts on the society, as a whole. On the one hand, the emergence of internet and cell phone revolutionize the way of living, as It has now become an inevitable part of our life. It paves the way for modernization and globalization because everybody is somehow connected to every part of the world, whether you want to know what is in the news regarding any particular area, what are the latest developments in the field of medical science? Or simply if you want to stay connected with your friends and family around the world. For instance, in the past you need to go to abroad in order to do specialization in a field of study, which is not available in your country, but now you can easily enrol yourself for the online classes. Even though, the arrival of smart phones and other networking devices immensely benefited the human race, but it all comes with a tremendous price. The elevated depend on the mobile screen to perform multiple tasks reduces the physical motion which leads us to a sedentary lifestyle. To exemplify, prior to internet banking, commoners use to go to the bank to deposit or withdraw their money, but now all of this could be done at the convenience of your home. In this way not only does it restrict physical contact but also have devastating effects on the health of the masses. To recapitulate, however, the advent of technological devices does have both its pros and cons, but in this case the negative far out weights the positive.