Part 1: which newspapers and magazines do you read? - What kinds of article are you most interested in? - Have you ever read a newspaper in a foreign language? - Do you think reading a newspaper in a foreign language is a good way of learning the language?

It is argued that countries should allocate more funds to literacy than to leisure and competitive games. It is agreed that national budgets should prioritise schools and universities over sports and play. This essay will discuss firstly, the economic benefits, education, discipline can bring to a nation and secondly, the social benefits it has; followed by a reasoned conclusion. Investment in its control system is one of the best ways to improve a country’s economy in the long term. The more students entering third level information, the more skilled a workforce will be and this leads to higher innovation and productivity. For example, South Korea and Finland took the decision to invest a large proportion of their budget on self-restraint and this has reaped benefits in the form of high-tech companies such as Samsung and Nokia. However, people cannot work hard all the time and these companies do provide leisure facilities for their workers. The study is not just about improving the economy, it also has many social benefits. Well educated people tend to be more aware of social evils such as drugs, alcohol and sexual health. For example, Singapore educates all of its citizens on the dangers of drugs and this has resulted in one of the lowest levels of drug abuse in the world. Despite this, sports can also teach children valuable soft skills, such as teamwork and work ethic which also help curb social ills. In conclusion, control should take precedence over sports when it comes to funding due to the many socioeconomic benefits it brings. It is recommended that governments continue to pump money into schools and universities in order to realise long-term goals.